Wednesday, March 23, 2016

BOOKS AMINO Ruined My Day (Sort Of)

This post was initially called BOOKS AMINO (Kinda) Ruined My Life. But I changed it, and opted for a milder title because there people who only look at titles, and they might get too worried and condemn Books Amino without reading the whole content of the blog post. And NO, my life is not actually ruined. I'm perfectly fine. Thank you for your concern. But although I am somehow exaggerating with that blog post title, I can tell you there's a hint of truth to that.

Before anything else, let me introduce you to Books Amino.

Books Amino is a free iOS/Android application that lets bookworms and book lovers from all over the world interact. It's like a social media app for book lovers that lets them post and share pictures and blog posts, vote on polls, ask questions and let other people answer, and the like. It's a book community - a bit like Goodreads or BookLikes in a sense, where you will find a lot of bookish people posting what they are currently reading, their book reviews and joining book discussions. But unlike Goodreads, I think Books Amino is geared towards user interaction more than actually reviewing and managing the books you have read (or to read).

Now, let me tell you how it kinda ruined day (Yes, I'm exaggerating.)

I had it all planned out - I was going to finish the book I was reading yesterday, write a review afterwards, prepare drafts for some possible future blog post, and if I still had some time, start reading another book. But a moment of weakness sent all these plans crashing down when I opened the Play Store app and searched for Books Amino. I don't even know why I downloaded the app in the first place. I just saw that one of the people I follow on Instagram shared that she has an account. So, at around 9 or 10 in the morning, I signed up and made an account, but I did not even follow her. I just started playing around the app, commenting on posts, chatting up with other members, voting on polls, and the next thing I knew, it was already midnight. I did not accomplish anything from my to-do list, and I know I was doomed.

Despite that terribly unproductive day, I still enjoyed being on Books Amino. It's fun talking to fellow bookworms. Some of them have book blogs, some are booktubers and bookstagrammers, and some are just avid readers asking for book recommendations, or looking for tips on how to stop themselves from excessive book buying. I actually enjoyed commenting and liking people's posts, and voting on polls. I know I can do that on twitter as well, or just jump from one blog to another. But it's easier to access the posts of the users in the app, thus making it more convenient for people to interact. It's like a downsized version of the book blogging community.

With all that said, I think you should give it try. Download the app, create an account, interact with users, find me (helloteepee), chat me up, or do whatever. If you don't like it, it's easy to uninstall and never look back. That's what I did to Snapchat. I can't figure it out, so I deleted it.

I'm new in the the Books Amino community, so I can't exactly tell you the ins and outs of the app right now. I'm still trying to figure it out myself. But so far, it hasn't been that hard to use. And if ever you find yourself not knowing what to do, there's always the "Tutorial" on the sidebar.

There are also other separate Amino apps you can download for free, like PLL Amino for fans of Pretty Little Liars, Doctor Who Amino, Supernatural Amino, Swifties Amino or K-Drama Amino and a lot more. Just a fair warning: I have read lots of accounts saying how addictive this app is. So beware!

Here are some of the Amino apps I have on my phone right now. My Books Amino account is the one I use often, but sometimes I jump to the K-Drama app. I haven't explored the Swifties app yet.

Disclaimer: This post does not really intend to promote the app, although I kinda advertised it to all of you already. But my main purpose of blogging about the app is to tell you why I haven't been reading, why I haven't posted a review when I should have, and why I was kind of MIA on Twitter or Instagram. I have been distracted, that's all. Thank you!


  1. I know what you mean!I know just recently joined and I too have neglected other things due to this app. But I'm learning how to balance it. Slowly, but I'll get there. I enjoy being in the book lovers community. It makes communicating easier than on instagram or YouTube.

    1. A lot of users seem to be experiencing the same thing. Maybe it's just a first time thing... After a few days, you'll be able to control yourself and actually get things done (hopefully) :)



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...